About Us

Who we are

​The Department of Immigration and Border Protection is responsible for immigration and customs border policy. It is headed by the Secretary Michael Pezzullo and Commissioner Roman Quaedvlieg.

More information is available about our senior staff or refer to an overview of our organisational structure (709KB PDF)​.


We aspire to be Australia’s trusted global gateway. We will be the conduit through which legitimate travellers, migrants, potential citizens and goods can pass, and we will also be able to close the gate against those who intend to circumvent our border controls.

Our mission is to protect Australia’s border and manage the ​movement of people and goods across it.

We manage the Migration Programme, the Humanitarian Programme, Australian citizenship, trade and customs, offshore maritime security and revenue collection. 

Our operational enforcement arm, the Australian Border Force, is responsible for our investigations, compliance and immigration detention operations, across our air and seaports and land and maritime domains. 

Our work supports the Australian Government to achieve:

  • strong national security
  • a strong economy
  • a prosperous and cohesive society.

The work we do touches every part of Australian life—industry and commerce, trade and travel, our national security, protecting our community and enforcing our laws, the security of our offshore maritime resources and environment, and collecting revenue for the Australian Government.

We have offices in every Australian state and territory, and in 52 locations around the globe.